A Mother’s Love & God’s Love.

momI hope every one enjoyed their Mother’s Day. I wanted to share a little something with you guys. Have you ever wondered about mother’s day, and not just about thanking your mom for just being there and loving you? Well, I’d like to share my story with you. I was such a brat at times growing up, and most times ungrateful for all the things my mother has done for me. I used to say that her nagging was annoying, and that she didn’t have to tell me twice on certain things, and that I knew that already etc. I was in such a rush to grow up, and experience the world for myself, that I began to push my mother away. I was wrong, I was not ready for what life had to throw at me. I thought my experiences were my own, and that my mother never had to go through what I went through, because she was “old-school,” and she wouldn’t understand.

I wasn’t a bad child, I did as I was told, and other times I rebelled, and was punished for it. I tried running away once, I packed a few clothes into my mini suitcase, after throwing a tantrum and tried to leave in the dead of night, during winter. I got as far as the end of the driveway before she screamed, “GET BACK IN HERE.” I’ve said things I know I shouldn’t have, and I still regret that I have said them. I’ve said things such as, “I hate living here,” I hate you,” and sometimes those words still ring in the back of my mind, even though I am on my own now. It reminds me of the hurt I made my mother go through, and how I’ve saddened her. Even now, there are still times I disagree with my mother, and I argue with her and I’m always trying to get the last word in, she just lets me be. She still checks up on me, always worrying about me, and making sure I don’t have any problems. I am forever grateful for her unconditional love for me, and for her family. No matter if I disappointed her, told her I hated her, she always welcomed me back with loving arms.

As a Christian, I have sinned in my life, (too many to count) and I know that I have disappointed God and saddened him for choosing wrong over right. But he is always there to take me back, even when I am at my lowest and undeserving-He’s there to lift me back onto my feet, to steer me in the right direction. It’s his unconditional love, ever merciful Father who will always be there to forgive us, just like my mother. I do not take life for granted, and I have made mistakes and I may make future mistakes, but as long as I have learned from it and know that what I did was wrong, and that I wouldn’t repeat it. I am trying my best in my walk with Christ to be able to live righteously. It’s hard! Even when you try to do the right thing at times, it still blows up in your face. But, with prayer, faith, and hope- I am able to wake up each new day, being ever so thankful to have a mother who watches over me and a Father who never leaves my side. “We love Him because He first loved us.” (1 John 3:23, NKJV)

“Love suffers long and it is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, it is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.” (1 Corinthians 13: 4-8, NKJV)

Here are a couple of songs that I enjoy and helps me understand God’s love for us is just infinite.

Abandon- “It Was Love”

Hawk Nelson- “Drops in the Ocean”

Hillsong United- “Prince of Peace”

Leave a Reply

